We are winding down from this very tumultuous year of 2012 and hoping for a more peaceful year in 2013. If I could do what Buddha said and conquer myself then I will accomplish something indeed. It has been such a whirlwind of a year, from start to finish and I can say, I for one am so glad it is almost over.

Unfortunately, I don’t think I learned all of the lessons that were meant for me to learn, and I am certain that I didn’t pass all of them, but I have survived. That has to count for something. It is so strange how much I have changed since I entered into my 50’s. Not all changes have been for the good. I hope some have. Only those who know me on a daily basis can answer that.

My son Elijah said that the reason I have become so sentimental in my old age is because when you enter this time of life, you begin to look for something to leave as your legacy. That you want to make a mark, do something meaningful. It makes sense. I even started feeding a stray cat (that has since found a home), because I couldn’t ignore it. That’s not always the way I’ve been. It’s a good change I’m sure.

Well, I suppose I will wrap this year up. Short and sweet.

I am set out to conquer myself.

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the  present moment.” ~ Buddha 

